Welcome

Welcome to my blog.

I am just planning to use this to share Writing Prompts and ideas with my writer friends and family. Here is a creative writing challenge prompt that I decided to do. Enjoy

The words required to be included were

  1. Hydraulic
  2. Leek
  3. Weather
  4. Simply
  5. Solutions
  6. Polyunsaturated
  7. Value
  8. Posthumous
  9. Cling

“It’s just not feasible.” his pleasant voice rumbled.

“I value you opinion on these things but you are just being argumentative!” her voice tinkled with humor.

“I am serious, if someone cut the hydraulic lines you would know it before you reached the end of the driveway. The only way to make it work would be to have mice, due to inclement weather, hiding in the old detached garage. They nibble on the lines just enough to weaken them.”

“ Darling, are you actually trying to help me find solutions to my dilemma or not? I’d really rather the solution not be a posthumous one. Could you pass me the butter? It may not be a polyunsaturated fat but I can’t imagine making the soup without it.”

“ Are you trying to butter me up?” He questions her wiggling his eyebrows as he hands her the newly purchased pound of butter. “If you are it won’t work, no matter how much I love your leek and potato soup on a wild and stormy night like tonight.” He looks past her at the swirling storm clouds visible through the enormous bay window of their fully modernized kitchen. 

“That was a simply dreadful pun my dear.” She chuckles and playfully kisses his cheek before returning her attention to the butter as she just adds it to the sizzling pan on the stove.

“You are a stubborn wench, my love, go ahead and cling to your original idea whether or not it’s impossible”. He stops chopping up the leek and waves the knife in the air to emphasis his point. “Can’t you kill them off a different way?”

“I could but that would be cheating. The original script included a huge fiery crash.” She nervously touched her necklace, a family heirloom containing a coin that was dated from antiquity, and sighed, “I wish we lived in a simpler time and place.”

Immediately a streak of lightning illuminated the night sky and the ancient cathedral on the hill visible out the window.

A horrific boom a split second later threatened to shatter the windows as the lights went out plummeting them into total darkness.

There was a howl from behind her and she spun around startled.

“Jonathan? Jonathan, are you alright?”

She edged towards where he had been before the lights went out. Her foot kicked something. She bent over to feel what it was. It was the handle of a knife on the floor. As she reached passed it, she felt something warm and sticky on the floor. Thinking it must be the latte Jonathan had purchased on his way home from picking up the groceries she licked her trembling fingers and was repulsed. It was not coffee she tasted but blood.
To be continued

Leave a Reply

